Managing your Team

You can manage every aspect of your Team from the Team Page.

In this article, we'll cover:

  1. Adjusting Access Permissions
  2. Adding Members to your Team
  3. Removing Members from your Team
  4. Changing your Team Name or Icon
  5. Leaving a Team
  6. Transferring Ownership of a Team
  7. Deleting a Team

Adjusting Access Permissions

You can upgrade or downgrade a Member's access at any time, from the Team Members section on the Team Page. This will affect their default access to Team Projects and Files.

There are three levels of access: 

  • Can View (Viewer)
  • Can Edit (Editor)
  • Admin

Learn more in our Understanding Sharing Permissions article.

  1. Click on their current permission level, to the right of their name.
  2. Select the new permission level from the options provided: 
  3. The Team Member's access will be immediately updated.

You can also adjust a Team member's access on individual Files and Projects. If you are on our Professional plan, you will also have access to Advanced Access Permissions. Learn more in our Sharing Files and Projects article.

Note: You'll only be charged for Team Members with Can Edit access i.e. "Editors". If you change a Team member from a Viewer to an Editor, they will be included in your next month's billing.


Adding Team Members

Team Members can be added at any time. You can add collaborators from the  Team Members section of the Team Page

Adding Editors

If you're adding new Editors to your plan you can expect your monthly Billing to increase. This includes anyone with  Can EditAdmin or Team Owner access. 

  • Monthly: Any new Editors added to your account will be included in your next monthly bill.
  • Annual: If you are on an Annual plan, you will be charged for any additional Editors on top of your Annual bill. 

If you are replacing an Editor and your total number of Editors won't change, your billing won't be affected.

Learn more about what to expect in our Managing your Billing article.

  1. In the Team Members section, click + Invite a Team Member link:
  2. Enter the Team Member's email address in the field provided:
  3. Determine which level of access they have. You can choose from Admin, Can Edit or Can View. Learn more about Sharing Permissions.

    Remember: If you have a Professional Team, Team Members who are given Admin or Can Edit access will be included in your billing. 

  4. Click the Invite button to send an email invitation. 
  5. The Team Member will need to accept the invitation, before they will be able to view and access the Team.

Removing Team Members

If someone leaves your company, or doesn't need access to your Projects any more, you can remove them from your Team. 

This will immediately revoke their access to any Projects and Files within your Team. We will also transfer ownership of their Team Projects and Files to the Team Owner.

You can remove a Team member from the Team Members section of the Team Page

  1. In the Team Members section, locate the Member you'd like to remove.
  2. Click the drop down arrow next to their current access level and select Remove from the options: 
  3. They will be immediately removed from your Team.

Changing the Team Name or Icon

Nothing brings a Team together more than collaborating on a Team name. If you want to change this to something more inspiring, or assign your Team an Icon, you can update these both from the Team page.

Rename your Team

  1. Click the down arrow next to the Team Name in the menu bar.
  2. Select Rename from the options: 
  3. You'll then be able to update the Name to something else: 
  4. Click outside of the field, or press the [Enter] key to save your changes.

Change the Icon

  1. Click the down arrow next to the Team Name in the menu bar.
  2. Select Change Icon from the options: 
  3. Or, click on the current Icon at the top of the page:
  4. A window will pop up that allows you to select an image from your computer.
  5. Select an appropriate photos and click Open to confirm.
  6. Your Team Icon will now be updated.

Leaving a Team

If you no longer need to be a part of a Team, then you can simply leave the Team. This will remove your access to the Team page, as well as any Projects or Files shared within that team.

Note: If you are the sole member of a Team, leaving the Team will delete the Team and any Projects or Files associated with them. This action cannot be undone.

  1. Open the Team page.
  2. Click on the Team name in the menu bar.
  3. Select Leave Team from the options: 
  4. You'll be prompted to confirm. Click Leave Team to confirm: 

You'll then be removed from the Team. However, you can always be added back to the Team at a later date.

Note: If you are the Owner of the Team then you will need to transfer ownership (see below) to another member, before you will be able to leave the Team.


Transferring Ownership of a Team

If you are leaving a Team, or would like someone else to be the main admin of a Team, then you can transfer ownership to another Team member. This can only be done if you are the current Owner of the Team.

  1. Open the Team page.
  2. Find the Member you'd like to transfer ownership to, in the Team Members section.
  3. Click on their current access level and update this to Owner. A Member will need to have either Can Edit or Admin access already, to allow the ownership to pass to them.
  4. You'll be prompted to confirm the Transfer of Ownership. This action cannot be undone. Click Transfer Ownership to confirm.
  5. The new Owner's access will be updated and your access will be changed to Admin. You can then proceed to leave the Team (see above), if desired.
  6. This won't change the Payment method for the Team. You may also need to update your billing details to the new Owner. Learn more in our article: Managing your Billing: Change Payment Method.

Deleting a Team

When the Project is over or you need to disband your Team, you can delete the Team from your account. Teams can only be deleted once there are no Members remaining.

Note: This action cannot be undone. If there are any Projects or Files within that Team, we recommend moving them to another team. Once the Team is deleted any Projects or Files within that team are no longer accessible.

  1. Go to the Team Dashboard.
  2. Remove every Member from the team (see above).
  3. Once every Team Member has been removed from the team, except for you, you can leave the Team.
  4. Click on the Team name in the menu bar and select Leave Team from the options: 
  5. You'll be prompted to confirm. Click Leave Team to complete: 
  6. You will be removed from the Team and the Team deleted.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.