[Organization] Team Management
Teams are groups of designers and collaborators that work together on specific projects. Each Team you create in Figma will have its own workspace where you can manage a Team's Members, Projects and Files.
There is no limit on how many Teams you can have within an Organization and Members can be added to more than one Team within the Organization.
Note: On our Professional plans, each Team is managed and billed separately. In an Organization, Teams are managed individually, but are billed together. This simplifies the billing process for larger Organizations with multiple Teams. Learn more in our Organization Billing article.
There are three different types of Team within an Organization. They are defined by their Org Access i.e. how Members of an Organization can discover or join them.
Anyone will be able to see an Open Team in the Team list within their account. Any Member will be able to join an Open Team whenever they want, without requiring permission from another Member.
Anyone will be able to see a Closed Team within the Organization. However, Members will have to request access from an Editor or Admin within the Team. Once this is approved, the user will be able to access any of the Team's Projects and Files.
Secret teams are hidden from anyone in an Organization, by default. You will only be able to see a Secret team in the list of teams, if you have been explicitly added by a member of that team.
Tip! Admins won't be able to view or access a Secret team. However, they will be able to see the team name and any activity relating to that team in the Activity Logs.
Admins and Members will both be able to view a list of Teams within an Organization.This can be done from the Teams tab in the Admin Console.
- Click on the View All teams button in the bottom-left corner of the Figma app.
Note: You will need to be in the File Browser and not the Editor.
- Go to the Teams tab:
- Here you will be able to see the Team name, how many Projects there are in the Team, the number of Members, and the Org Access level.
Creating, Joining and Leaving Teams
From the Teams page in the Admin Console any member of the Organization will be able to see a list of Open and Closed Teams within the Organization.
Note: By default, any Members that join a Team themselves will be added to the Team with only Can View access. They will need to be upgraded to Can Edit access by another Editor or Admin on that team. Once the Member has been given Can Edit access to the team, they will be considered a Full Member and the Organization will be billed accordingly.
Join an Open Team
Click Join next to the open Team to add themselves to an Open Team.
Join a Closed Team
Click Request to Join next to the Closed Team.
A Team Admin will need to approve their request before they can view the Team Projects and Files.
Create a New Team
Click the Create New Team link at the bottom of the Admin Console.
This will take you to a new page where you can give your new Team a new, and determine its Org Access. Find out more about about how to create a team in our Creating your Team article.
Leave a Team
Click Leave Team next to any Team they are currently a member of.
This will remove the Member from that Team and they will no longer be able to access any Files, Resources or Fonts shared within that Team.
Tip! When there are no longer any members within a Secret team, an Admin will be able to join that team. They can then view, access or delete it, if required.