Sharing Files

Heads up! We recommend you read our Understanding Sharing Permissions article first, before you read this one. This covers our different permission levels in detail.

You can share your Figma Files and Projects, as soon as you're ready to collaborate. You can invite others to Files in your Drafts or Team Projects.

In this article, we'll cover:

  1. Sharing Files
  2. Using the File Sharing Modal
  3. Updating File Permissions
  4. Sharing File Links (Link Sharing)

Note: Figma has an optimal capacity of 50 current collaborators on a File. You may encounter issues with memory or multiplayer features if you reach this limit.


Sharing Files

Every Figma user will have a Drafts folder. From here, you can create Personal Files to develop your own designs. When you're ready to share your designs, you can invite collaborators to your Files. 

You can invite someone to your Drafts via the Sharing Modal.

You can also share a File in a Team Project. You can use this to share a File with someone outside of a Team. Or, give someone a different level of access than their Team Permissions. 

Like Files in your Drafts, you can determine who has access to Team Files via the Sharing modal. 

Note: It's not possible to give someone Can View access to a Team File, if they are an Editor on the Team. This is only possible if you are adding them to an "Invite-Only" or "View only" Project.


Using the File Sharing Modal

You can share Files from your Drafts folder. Or share individual Files within Team Projects.

From the File Sharing Modal you can:

  1. View the File Name.
  2. See which Folder or Project the File is included in.
  3. Invite Collaborators to the Project.
  4. View the Team's Access to the File.
    • In a Team, this determines how members of your Team will be able to interact with this File.
    • Within your Drafts, Files, or Shared Projects, this will determine how members of that Project can access the File.
  5. View and Update Link Sharing settings.
    1. Determine how people can find and access your Files.
    2. Determine what level of access those collaborators will have.
  6. See who the File Owner is.
  7. See who else has access to the File.
  8. Update Permissions for Collaborators.
  9. Copy a link to the File. If you have a specific Frame selected, you can also choose to Link to selected frame.
  10. Copy the Embed code.
  11. Turn the "Viewers can copy and share" setting on or off.

    Note: This setting is only available to Student and Professional Teams, or Teams in an Organization. This is not available on free plans (Starter).

You can open the Sharing modal from a number of places:

File Browser

  1. Go to your Drafts or Project page.
  2. Click the three ellipses in the File Preview and select Share from the options:

Editor

You can also access the File Sharing Modal from the Editor:

  1. Click the Share button in the toolbar: 

Updating File Permissions

Once you've opened the Sharing modal for a File, you can make changes to its permissions.

In this section, we'll cover how to:

  1. Add New Collaborators
  2. Update a Collaborator's Permissions
  3. Remove a Collaborator's Access

Add New Collaborators

  1. Enter the email address of the collaborator in the field provided.
  2. Choose which Permissions to give them. You can choose from Can View or Can Edit
  3. Click Invite to send an invitation. They will need to accept this by following the link in their invitation email: 
  4. They will now show up as a Collaborator on the File.

Update a Collaborator's Access

  1. Click on the arrow next to their current permissions: 
  2. Select a new permission from the options: 

Remove a Collaborator's Access

  1. Find the collaborator you wish to remove.
  2. Click on the arrow next to their current permissions.
  3. Select Remove from the options:
  4. The collaborator will no longer have access to that File.

Sharing File Links (Link Sharing)

You can also share a File using the File URL. This allows anyone with the link to access your File. We refer to this as Link Sharing.

You can adjust the Link Sharing setting for each File individually. This is done via the Sharing modal.

There are two settings related to Link Sharing:

The  Link Sharing Discovery setting determines how people can find and access your Files. 

  • Anyone with the link
  • Anyone at <Organization> with the link
  • Anyone at <Organization>
  • Only people invited to the File.

The Link Sharing Permissions setting determines what level of access those collaborators will have.

  • Can View
  • Can Edit

You can also decide to Allow Viewers to Copy and Share files they have access to. This setting is only available to Student and Professional Teams, or Teams in an Organization.

Within an Organization, the default permissions are set to "Anyone at Organization" and "Can View".

You can still adjust these settings for individual files. Learn more about Sharing Resources in an Organization.

Adjust your Link Sharing Settings

  1. Click the Share button from the File.
  2. Click the left Link Sharing dropdown to determine who can access Files via Link Sharing:
  3. To remove Link Sharing, select Only people invited to this file:
  4. Use the right drop down to select permissions for Link Sharing. You can select can view or can edit:
  5. If you don't want Viewers to be able to copy, share, or export elements from your File, you can turn off the Allow viewers to copy and share setting.
     

    Note: This setting is only available to Student and Professional Teams, or Teams in an Organization. This is not available on free plans (Starter).

  6. Click the Edit icon in the bottom-right corner:
  7. Select Viewers can copy and share to turn the setting off or on:

Copy and Share a File URL

  1. You can copy and share the File URL from the Sharing modal.
  2. If you have a Frame selected in the canvas, you can choose to Link to selected Frame:
  3. Click Copy Link to copy the URL to your clipboard: 
  4. Click Get embed code to view the embed code. This will open a dialog with the embed code included: 

    Note: You will need to have Link Sharing set to Anyone with the Link to embed Files in a website.

  5. Click the Copy button to add the code to your clipboard:

Tip! When using Figma in the browser, you can also copy the link from the address bar.

Keep in mind

  • You can copy a link to the currently selected frame by checking the box next to Link to selected Frame
  • Anyone who views a File (via Link Sharing) will be added to the File as a collaborator. To make a File private again, you will need to remove collaborators added via Link Sharing. You won't be able to see anyone without a Figma account that viewed the File.
  • You can add </duplicate> to the end of the File. This will create a copy of this File which viewers can access instead. Bear in mind, collaborators will still be able to view the original File via the URL.
  • The URL used for Link Sharing will always be the same. Even if you change your settings, the same URL will be used.
  • You will need to have your Link Sharing set to "Anyone with the Link" to embed Figma files. Learn more about using live embed in our Figma Live Embed article.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.