Manage Permissions in a Team

When you invite a collaborator to a Team, you can determine their default access to Team Files and Projects. You can also choose to adjust a Member's access at any time. 

This applies to stand-alone Teams (Starter, Student or Professional), as well as Teams within an Organization.

I want to:


Understand Team Permissions

There are four levels of access in a Team: Viewer, Editor, Admin and a single Team Owner.

In addition to Team Permissions, you can also determine a Team member's access to individual Files and Projects. If you are on our  Professional plan, you will also have access to Advanced Access Permissions

Learn more about File and Project permissions in our Sharing Files and Sharing Projects articles.

We will honor permissions in the following order:

  1. File Permissions
  2. Project Permissions
  3. Team Permissions

For example: You add a collaborator to the Team as a Viewer. You also invite them to a File within a Team Project as an Editor. They will be able to edit that specific File, while still having view only access to other Team Files and Projects.

Note: If you give someone Edit access to a File or Project, we will include them in your Team billing as an Editor.


Adjust a Collaborator's Access

When you invite a collaborator to a Team, you can determine their default access to Team Files and Projects. You can also choose to adjust a Member's access at any time. When you make a change to a collaborator's permissions, we will update their access immediately.

  1. In the File Browser, open the Team Page.
  2. View a list of collaborators in the Team Members section.
  3. Click the down arrow next to their current permission.
  4. Select the new permission from the options. You can choose:
    1. Admin
    2. Can Edit (Editor)
    3. Can View (Viewer)

      Tip! You can also use this process to Change the Team Owner or Remove a Member from the Team.

  5. We will update their access immediately. 

Note: You'll only be charged for Team Members with Can Edit access i.e. "Editors". If you change a Team member from a Viewer to an Editor, they will be included in your next month's billing. Learn more about Team billing in our Managing your Billing article.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.