Projects in Figma

Who can use this feature?

✅Users on any Figma plan
✅You can only create Projects in Teams
❌You can't create Projects within your Drafts

You can create a Team for your own work, or for collaborating with a group. Create a New Team to start using Projects.

Projects allow you to group your related design Files together in a single space, like a folder in a file system.

  • In a Starter Team, you can create up to 2 Projects.
  • In a Professional Team, you can create Unlimited Projects.
  • In an Organization, you can create Unlimited Teams and Unlimited Projects.

Tip! Create a free Starter Team to create Projects. Projects can only be created within Teams. It's not possible to create Projects in your Drafts.

Project Structure

You can use Projects to group Files in any way that makes sense to you.

It's not possible to create subfolders within your Projects. This is something to bear in mind when deciding how to structure your Files and Projects.

The way your company or agency is set up may also inform some of that structure.

There are five levels of File structure available in Figma:

  1. Organization (Figma Organization plans only)
  2. Teams
  3. Projects
  4. Files
  5. Pages

Some approaches we've seen for Projects:

  • Client Projects
  • Grouping Resources e.g. Brand Assets or Templates
  • Design Systems
  • Building interfaces and prototypes for new products
  • Files for usability or accessibility testing
  • Collections of an Individual Designers work within a Team
  • Exploration outside of a current Project's scope
  • Presentations
  • Side Hustles
  • Maker Week fun and games

Project Pages

You can Create a Project from your Team Page. Every Project you create will then have its own Project Page.

This allows members to access Files within that Project, in one place. This also gives you an opportunity to communicate the context behind the Project.

Toolbar

At the top of the Project page is a toolbar. This allows you to perform some quick actions:

  1. Rename the Project
  2. Share a Project
  3. Create a New File in the Project
  4. Favorite the Project

Project Page

In the body of the Project Page you can see:

  1. The Project Name

    You can change the Project's name by clicking on the Project Name in the toolbar. Select Rename from the options. Move, Rename or Delete Projects

  2. A Description of the Project

    You can add links to websites, external Files, or spec documents here. This gives collaborators greater insight and allows them to access other Project resources.

    Add or Edit your Project Description

    Add a Team Name, Icon and Description

  3. A list of top Contributors
    We display Project members in order based on their interactions. We show the most active Editors at the top, so you know exactly who to talk to about a Project.
  4. All the Files in this Project

    You can switch between List or Tile view. You can pin important Files to the top, or sort Files based on your preference.

    Search, Sort and View Files

    Pin a File to a Project

Project Permissions

Generally, any Projects created within a Team will be accessible to all members of that Team.

Team Members will be able to interact with any Team Projects based on their  permissions. Learn more in our Manage Permissions in a Team article.

You can also adjust the permissions for each Project.

You can use Advanced Project Permissions to create Invite Only Projects for sensitive or private work. Or, create Projects that members of that Team can only view.

This allows you to give a Team member permissions that are different from their general Team access.

You can also use this option to invite someone from outside of the Team to a specific Project without inviting them to the entire Team.

Click the Share button on the Project Page to open the Sharing Modal for the Project.

From here you can:

  1. Invite Viewers and Editors to a Project
  2. Adjust Permissions on a Project
  3. Remove a Collaborator from a Project
  4. Create Private and View Only Projects (Advanced Project Permissions)

Advanced Project Permissions

If you are a member of a Professional Team, then you also have access to  Advanced Project Permissions.

These extra permissions allow you to create:

  • Private Projects
  • View Only Projects

Learn more in our Create Private and View Only Projects article.

Learn More about Projects

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.