Adjust Permissions on a Project

Who can use this feature?

✅Users in Professional or Figma Organization Plans
Admins or Team Owners can adjust Project Permissions

Generally, any Projects created within a Team will be accessible to all Team Members.

Team Members will be able to interact with any Team Projects based on their  permissions. Learn more in our Manage Permissions in a Team article.

You can adjust a collaborator's Permissions on each Project. As well as adjust the Team's access to the Project.

Invite a Viewer or Editor to a Project

  1. Open the Project Page in the File Browser
  2. Click the Share button in the top-right corner.
  3. In the Invite someone field, enter the Collaborator's email.
  4. Set their access permissions:
    1. Select Can View to invite them as a Viewer.
    2. Select Can Edit to invite them as an Editor.
  5. Click the X to close the Sharing modal and return to the Project Page.

Note: When you invite someone as an Editor to a Project, we will include them in your Editor count. We will use your Editor count to calculate your Team (or Organization's) invoice. If they were already an Editor on the Team, you won't incur any extra costs.

Adjust Team Member Permissions

You can adjust a Team Member's Permission on a Project. This allows you to:

  • Upgrade a Viewer to an Editor
  • Downgrade an Editor to a Viewer

Note: When you upgrade someone to an Editor on a Project, we will include them in your Editor count. We will use your Editor count to calculate your Team (or Organization's) invoice. If they were already an Editor on the Team, you won't incur any extra costs.

  1. Open the Project Page in the File Browser
  2. Click the Share button in the top-right corner.
  3. Click the arrow next to the member's current access.
    1. Select Can View to make them a Viewer
    2. Select Can Edit to make them an Editor
  4. Click the X to close the Sharing modal and return to the Project Page

Adjust Team Access

  1. Open the Project Page in the File Browser
  2. Click the Share button in the top-right corner.
  3. Click the access next to Members of Team Name.
    1. Select Can Edit to allow Team members to access the Project based on their Team permissions.
    2. Select Can View to create a Project that Team members can only view.
    3. Select Remove Team Access to create a Private Project. Only members who you have invited to the Project will be able to access it
  4. Click the X to close the Sharing modal and return to the Project Page.

Remove a Team Member

  1. Open the Project Page in the File Browser
  2. Click the Share button in the top-right corner.
  3. Click the arrow next to the member's current access.
  4. Select Remove from the options.
  5. We will remove that member's access to the Project. Click the X to close the Sharing modal and return to the Project Page.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.