Delete a Team in an Organization

Who can use this feature?

✅Users on the Figma Organization Plan
✅Only the Team Owner can delete the Team
❌We cannot restore Deleted Teams in an Organization

Note: If the Team Owner has left and the Team is empty, an Organization Admin can delete the Team

No longer need a Team? You can delete it. In the event of an abandoned Team, an Organization Admin can claim ownership and delete it.

We recommend moving any Team Files and Projects to another Team, before proceeding.

I want to:

Note: We will delete any Files or Projects in a deleted Organization Team. This action is permanent and cannot be undone.

Delete a Team

When you delete a Team, we will permanently delete any Files and Projects in that Team. This applies for all collaborators, not only you. This action cannot be undone.

If you are the Team Owner, you are able to delete your Team.

If you are leaving the Team, you may want to Change the Team Owner instead. This makes sure we keep all Files and Projects.

If you want to proceed:

  1. Open the Team Page in the File Browser.
  2. In the Toolbar, click the arrow next to the Team name. Select Delete Team from the options.
  3. Enter the name of the Team in the field provided and click Confirm Delete.
  4. We will delete the Team and any Files or Projects. We cannot reverse or undo this action.

Claim and Delete a Team

If there are no longer any members in a Team, an Organization Admin can gain access to the Team. This includes secret Teams that a deleted member created.

When a Team is empty, an Organization Admin can access the team:

  1. Go to the Organization page and select  the Settings tab
  2. Select the Teams tab
  3. Find the Team in the list. It will have 0 Members in the Members column,
  4. Click Join to join the Team.

Once you have access to the Team, you can then:

Permanently Delete the Team

  1. Open the Team Page in the File Browser.
  2. In the Toolbar, click the arrow next to the Team name.
  3. Select Delete Team from the options.
  4. Enter the name of the Team in the field provided and click Confirm Delete.
  5. We will delete the Team and any Files or Projects. We cannot reverse or undo this action.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.