Adjust Permissions on a File

Who can use this feature?

✅Users in Professional or Figma Organization Plans
Team Owners, Admins or File Owners can adjust a File's Permissions

You can create Files within Projects in a Team. Or, work on Personal Files in your Drafts.

Generally, any Files created within a Team will be accessible to all Team Members.

Team Members will be able to interact with any Files based on their  permissions. Learn more in our Manage Permissions in a Team article.

You can adjust a collaborator's access to a File in your Drafts.

In a Professional Team, you can adjust a collaborator's Permissions on each File.

This allows you to:

  • Upgrade a Viewer to an Editor
  • Downgrade an Editor to a Viewer

Note: When you upgrade someone to an Editor on a File, we will also include them as an Editor in your billing. We won't make any changes to their Team Permissions.

Adjust File Permissions

You can adjust a Team Member's Permission on a File via the File Sharing modal. This allows you to:

You can access this from a few places:

Project Page

  1. Open the Project page in the File Browser.
  2. Right-click on the File to open the File menu.
  3. Select Share from the options: 

Working on a private Project? Learn more about Advanced Project Permissions.

Editor

  1. Open the File in the Editor.
  2. In the toolbar, click the Share button:

File Sharing

  1. Open the File Sharing modal (see above)
  2. Click the arrow next to the member's current access.
    • Select Can View to make them a Viewer
    • Select Can Edit to make them an Editor
    • Tip! In Student, Professional and Organization Teams, you can Prevent Viewers from Copying or Sharing Files.

  3. Click the X to close the Sharing modal and return to the File.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.