Update Organization Access for a Team

Who can use this feature?

✅Users on the Figma Organization Plan
✅Only Team Admins or Owners can update Organization Access 

In a Figma Organization, you can create as many Teams as you need. Members can be a part of more than one Team.

Every Team can have its own Projects, Files, Fonts and Shared Libraries. Learn more in our Teams in an Organization article.

Members of an Organization will be able to browse a list of Teams from the Organization Page.

You can control which Teams Organization members can discover with Org Access.

Note: This applies to Organization Members. Guests will only be able to view Teams, Files and Projects to which you have invited them.

Organization Access

Tip! We use the term Member below as defined in our Permissions in an Organization article.

There are three levels of Org Access:

Open

Every Member of an Organization will be able to search for and find an Open Team. We will show Open Teams on the Organization Page, and in the Teams tab in the Admin Console.

Members will be able to search, view, and discover any Files or Projects within an Open Team.

A Member can Join an Open Team, without requiring an invitation from an existing Team Member.

When joining an Open Team, we will give you Viewer Permissions. A Team Admin or Editor will be able to upgrade you to an Editor.

Join an Open Team

Closed

Every Member of an Organization will be able to search for and find a Closed Team. We will show Closed Teams on the Organization Page, and in the Teams tab.

Organization Members won't be able to view any Files or Projects within that Team, unless they are part of it.

A Member can Request to Join a Closed Team. A Team Admin will need to confirm your request, before we add you to the Team.

Once they have approved you, you can access any of the Team's Files and Projects.

Request to Join a Closed Team

Secret

We don't make Secret Teams visible to Members of the Organization. We don't show Secret Teams on the Organization Page, or in the Teams tab.

A Team member will need to Invite you to a Secret Team, before you can access any Files or Projects within it.

Like Professional Teams, we restrict invitations by your Permissions:

  • Only Team Admins or Owners can grant other members Admin permissions.
  • Team Admins or Editors can invite other members to a Team as Editors.
  • Viewers can only invite other members to a Team as Viewers.

Learn more in out Understanding Sharing Permissions article.

Note: Organization Admins won't be able to view or access a Secret team, unless they are a member of that Team. Admins will be able to see the team name, and any activity, in the Organization's Activity Logs.

Update a Team's Org Access

You can set a Team's Org Access when you first create the Team.

After you have created the Team, only Team Owners or Admins can update the Org Access.

  1. Open the Team Page in the File Browser.
  2. Navigate to the Settings tab in the toolbar.
  3. Click the arrow next to the current Access within Organization
  4. Select the new Org Access level from the options:
    • Open
    • Closed
    • Secret
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.