Delete a File

Who can use this feature?

✅Users on Starter, Student, Professional or Figma Organization Plans
✅Anyone with Can Edit access can delete the File
✅Only the File Owner can choose to Delete Forever

If you no longer need a File, you can delete it. When you delete a File we will:

  • Move the File to the File Owner's Deleted Files folder
  • Remove the File for all collaborators

The File Owner can then choose to:

  • Duplicate to Drafts
  • Restore a Deleted File
  • Delete Forever

I want to:

Send a File to Deleted Files

  1. Open the Project or File page in the File Browser
  2. Right-click on the File to open the File menu.
  3. Select Delete from the options.
  4. We will:
    • Move the File to the File Owner's Deleted Files folder
    • Remove the File for all collaborators

Restore or Duplicate a Deleted File

You can restore a File from the Deleted Files page. Or, create a copy of the File in your Drafts.

  1. Open your Drafts in the File Browser.
  2. Navigate to the Deleted Files tab.
  3. Right-click on the File to open the File menu.
    • Select Restore to restore to the File to its original location (if it still exists)

      Tip! Click the Show in Project link to go view the File's in its location

    • Select Duplicate to Drafts to create a copy of the File in your Drafts. We treat this as a new File with no Permissions, Comments or Version History.

Learn more about  Deleted Files in our Using the File Browser article.

Delete a File Forever

Only the File Owner can choose to Delete a File Forever. This action is permanent and can't be undone.

  1. Open your Drafts in the File Browser.
  2. Navigate to the Deleted Files tab.
  3. Right-click on the File to open the File menu.
  4. Select Delete Forever from the options.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.