Move, Rename or Delete Projects

Who can use this feature?

✅Users on any Figma plan
✅You can only create Projects in Teams
Editors, Admins and Team or Project Owners can make changes to Projects

Move a Project

You can only move a Favorited Project between Teams. This is because Favorited Projects appear in the sidebar, in the File Browser, while Projects that haven't been favorited do not.

Favorite the Project

  1. Open the Project Page in the File Browser
  2. In the top-right corner, click the Star icon ⭐
  3. We will add the Project to the sidebar in the File Browser

Move the Project

You can now drag the Project to a new Team.

  1. Click and hold the Project name in the File Browser.
  2. Drag the Project name so that it appears underneath the Team name.
  3. Release to move the Project. Click Move Project to confirm the location.

Rename a Project

You can change the name of a Project from the Project Page.

  1. Open the Project Page in the File Browser
  2. In the Toolbar, click the arrow next to the Project name.
  3. Select Rename from the options.
  4. The Project name will now be editable. Enter a new name in the field provided.
  5. Click outside of the Project name to apply.

Delete a Project

If you no longer need a Project, you can delete it.

When you delete a Project, we will move all the Files in that Projects to the Deleted Files folder.

You can restore Files from this folder, or delete them permanently.

Note: It's not possible to restore a Project once you have deleted it.

  1. Open the Project in the File Space.
  2. In the toolbar, click on the arrow next to the Project name:
  3. Select Delete from the options:
  4. We will prompt you to confirm. You can't undo this action. Click Delete Project to confirm.
  5. We will then:
    • Remove that Project from the Team
    • Add any Files from that Project to the Owner's Deleted Files folder.
  6. To delete the File forever:
    1. Go to the Deleted Files folder. These Files can only be access by the Project Owner.
    2. Right-click on the File and select Delete forever from the options.

Accidentally deleted a Project? We recommend duplicating the Deleted Files to your Drafts folder.

You can then create a new Project and move those Files to the new Project.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.