Before you start
Who can use this feature
Anyone with can edit access to the file can delete the file for all collaborators.
Anyone with can edit can choose files to Delete Forever.
Delete files to remove them from your Drafts or team projects. This will delete the file for you and any other collaborators with access to the file.
You can view, restore, and permanently delete files in the Deleted tab of your Drafts. Figma stores deleted files indefinitely. Learn more about managing deleted files →
Delete a file
Caution: Deleting a file will remove the file for all collaborators, not just yourself. To remove a file from your file browser for just yourself, we recommend you leave the file instead.
- Open the project or file page in the File Browser
- Right-click on the file to open the file menu.
- Select Delete from the options.
- Figma will move the file to your Deleted files. This will also remove the file for all collaborators.
Want to undo a deleted file? You can restore or duplicate a deleted file. Learn more in our restore a deleted file article.
Delete a file forever
Caution: This action will delete the file for all collaborators. Proceed with caution.
Anyone with can edit access to the file can delete the file forever. This action is permanent and can't be undone.
If you don't see the Delete Forever option when interacting with a file, it means you didn't have edit access to the file and you won't be able to delete it forever.
- Open your Drafts in the file browser.
- Navigate to the Deleted tab.
- Right-click on the File to open the File menu.
- Select Delete Forever from the options.