Before you Start
Who can use this feature
Users on Any Figma plan
Only the current File Owner can transfer ownership
Files within Teams or within your Drafts folder
When you create a File, we will make you the File Owner.
You can choose to transfer ownership of the File to another collaborator. This could be someone on your Team, or an external collaborator, if you're working in your Drafts.
- Only the current File owner can transfer ownership of a File.
- You can only transfer ownership to someone who is already a collaborator on that File.
- You can transfer ownership of Files in a Team, or a File within your Drafts folder.
Note: You can also transfer ownership of an entire Team. This will transfer any Projects or Files you owned to the new Owner.
Learn more about transferring a Team in our Change the owner of a team article.
Transfer Ownership of a File
You can transfer ownership from the File's sharing modal.
You can access this from a few places:
- Open the Project page in the File Browser.
- Right-click on the File to open the File menu.
- Select Share from the options.
- Open the File in the Editor.
- In the toolbar, click the Share button.
The File's Sharing modal will show you who is currently added to the File.
- Find the person you would like to transfer ownership to.
Note: You can only transfer ownership to someone who is an existing collaborator. Learn how to Invite a collaborator to a File.
- Click the arrow next to the new Owner to adjust their permissions. Select Owner from the options:
- We'll prompt you to confirm the transfer. You can't undo this action. Click the Transfer ownership button to confirm.
- We will then:
- Transfer ownership of the File to the new owner.
- We won't change the File's location. This applies to Files created in your Drafts folder too.
- We won't adjust your access permissions, or prevent you from viewing the File.