Permissions allow for more refined collaboration within Figma and can improve design workflows for teammates. With Teams, you can create a shared team space and maintain a directory of team files that is constantly up-to-date, with version history for every file. Within the team space, you can also share components, such as a color library.
Anyone with access to a team space or shared project can access and comment on all of the files in that space. You can invite people to join a team or project via email. Teammates can be Owners, Admins, Editors, or Viewers. Once the permission level is set for a member of the team, that same permission is set for every project and file in the team space.
If a link to a file is shared with anyone outside of the team, they will not be able to access the file. No files in a team space are public.
Owners can change anyone’s permissions, and invite others to join the team as an Admin, Editor, or Viewer. Owners can also transfer ownership to another teammate if they wish and there can only be one owner at any given time.
Admins can modify permissions for team members, and invite others to join with Admin, Edit, or View-level access.
Editors can invite and change permissions for other Editors and Viewers. They cannot alter Admin or Owner permissions.
Viewers can invite others to view a file. They cannot change anyone’s permissions.
Advanced Project Permissions (for Professional Teams only)
If you’re paying for a Professional Team in Figma you have access to Advanced Project Permissions. This allows for additional privacy on projects within a team.
Why is this useful?
If a small group of people in a larger team want to iterate on some new design files in private, they can use an invite-only project for organization and/or component management without the rest of the team seeing the files before they are ready.
Or, the people maintaining the design system on a large team can put the files defining the design system components in a view-only project, so the other designers on their team can use the components but not have access to change them.
How does this work?
- Login to Figma
- Select your team name on the left side of the File Browser
- Select New Project
- Give your project a name and then open the dropdown menu
From the drop down menu you have a few options:
- Can Edit is the default setting. All team editors can create/edit files in these projects and team viewers can view the projects and files in the project.
- Can View projects are only viewable and commentable by team members who have been explicitly invited, even if they are already editors on the team.
- Invite only projects are invisible to all other team members.
Anyone invited to a team as an editor can create a team project with the ability to set the permissions for the project accordingly.
Projects can be transitioned between edit only, view only, and invite only by any project editor
How does this affect my Team Library?
If you are paying for a Professional team, you also have access to the Team Library feature. Your Team Library includes whatever components are in the projects that you have access to within the team.
- You can publish to the team library from a view-only project and everyone on the team will see (but not be able to edit) the components.
- You can publish to the team library from an invite-only project and only the people with access to the invite-only project will see those components.
Owners, Admins, and Editors have the full ability to change files and projects including the file’s name, content, or permissions. They can also delete files.
Viewers can see the full design, view and add comments, duplicate the file to their personal drafts, and share files with other viewers. They cannot change the contents of, rename, or delete the file.
If you are an owner or admin on your team, from the team dashboard, you can change members edit status to documents in the team by selecting the down arrow next to the "can edit" option to the right of their name.
Anyone can create teams and invite others to join the team via email. To do so, click New Team in the left-side panel and choose a name. Team members can be invited via email. The Owner or Admin of the team can adjust the permission level of subsequent team members.
Only team owners can delete teams. Other members of the team will need to leave the team, or you can manually remove them. Once all other members have left the team, the owner can Leave Team. This will delete the team and any files and projects inside.
For additional information about teams in Figma, check out Creating and Managing Your Team.
Also, be sure to check out this video about Permissions and Sharing Files.