Before you Start
Who can use this feature
Supported on any team or plan.
Anyone with can view or can edit access to a file or prototype can use observation mode
Whenever you view a file or prototype, we will also add your avatar to the toolbar. This allows everyone to see who is currently accessing the file.
If you click on a person's avatar, you will enter observation mode.
Like screen-sharing, observation mode shows you what's happening on their screen, in Figma.
This allows you to follow along with their actions and track each movement they make in the canvas. This includes actions like zooming in on the canvas, or switching between pages.
You won't be able to see actions with the toolbar, sidebars, or anything outside of the canvas.
Note: We won't tell someone if you follow them in observation mode. We do still show your cursor's location when you're in observation mode. If they have Multiplayer Cursors enabled, they will be able to see your cursor in their viewport.
Use observation mode in a file
You can use observation mode when you're viewing a file in the Editor. This allows you to track another user's actions as they move around the file.
You can use this to:
- Walk-through designs with remote collaborators
- Present designs during a design crit
- Demonstrate tasks and specific actions
- Reference a particular part of the file when talking with collaborators
- Remove the need for screen-sharing when you have a slow internet connection
- Follow students as they complete exercises
Whenever you access a file, we will add your avatar to the toolbar. This allows everyone to see who is currently accessing the file.
We will give each collaborator's avatar a color, which we use when you are in observation mode.
- In the toolbar, click on a person's avatar to enter observation mode:
- We will show a border around your canvas, in the color of the person's avatar. You will see a confirmation at the top of the screen that you are "Observing Team Member".
- You can now see their actions as they move through the prototype.
- We will mirror what they can see in their viewport. This includes their location, zoom level and page.
- We'll include their cursor so you can see exactly where they are.
- We don't show any interactions they have with the Figma UI (Tool bar and sidebars). You can still see their cursor's location as they interact with the Figma UI.
Looking for more creative ways to use observation mode? Check out our Figma feature highlight: observation mode.
Use observation mode in a prototype
You can use observation mode while you are in Presentation View. This allows you to follow along with a user while they interact with your prototype.
You can use this to:
- Walk-through prototype Interactions with remote collaborators
- Track what actions a user is performing during a usability test
- Switch between presenter views during a presentation
- Remotely control a presentation from your phone
- Open the prototype in Presentation View.
- Hover over the top of the screen to show the menu bar.
- Click on the user's Avatar in the menu bar to enter observation mode:
- You can then see their actions as they move through the prototype. We'll include their cursor so you can see exactly where they are.
Tip! If someone has logged in to Figma, we will show their profile picture and display name. If they aren't logged in, we will show a question mark icon and an "Anonymous" name.
Exit observation mode
To exit observation mode, you can interact with your screen in the following ways:
- Selecting an object in the Canvas
- Zooming in or out
- Navigating out of the current viewport e.g. pan around the canvas
In a prototype, you can exit observation mode by interacting with the prototype. This won't affect what the person you were observing sees at their end. Although, they could choose to now follow along with your actions!