Who can use this feature
Supported on Professional, Organization, and Enterprise plans.
Only people with explicit edit access to the file can add or reset a password. This includes the file owner and anyone in the share modal with can edit access.
Every FigJam file, Figma design file, and prototype has a unique link. You can use these links to share your files and prototypes with collaborators.
There are some situations where you want to share a file publicly, but only want specific people to be able to access it.
- Share sensitive or private information within a team or organization
- Share client work in a simple and secure way
- Give external collaborators a safe way to access resources
Password protection makes sure only people with the password can access the file. Password don't apply to people with existing permissions on the file, project, or team.
Password protection is just one of the ways Figma protects your data. Learn more about Figma’s privacy and security practices.
Add password protection
You can add a password using the file’s link sharing settings. Link sharing controls what access people without existing permissions get when they open a file.
Things to note
- For design files, the password applies to both the file and any prototypes in that file.
- You can also add password protection to open sessions in FigJam.
- For files with branches, the password only applies to the main file. This is because only people with access to the main file can access branches. If you add a password to the main file, the link sharing setting for any branches is set to Only people invited to branch. Share a branch →
- You can’t set a password on a file that’s shared in the Figma Community. Anyone with the link and password won’t be available as a setting in published files.
- Open the file and click Share in the toolbar.
- Update the audience setting to Anyone with a link and password.
- Enter a password in the Choose password field. There are no requirements for password length or character types.
- Click Save to apply. Figma will show when the password was set and who it was set by.
- You can then update the file permissions for anyone who accesses it using the link and password. Choose from can edit, can view, or can view prototypes only.
- Figma will update the file access and reload the file. To access the file again, people will now need to enter the password.
- Select Copy link from the share modal to copy the file link to your clipboard.
Figma will show a generic thumbnail and icon for password-protected files. This applies to files in the file browser, as well as link previews in other tools, like Slack.
- FigJam files: FigJam’s dot background
- Figma design files: Default background gray
- Prototypes: Black background
Open password-protected files
When someone opens a password-protected file, Figma checks to see if they already have access to the file.
If the have a role on the file, or access via the team or project, they won't need to enter the password. They can access the file based on their existing permissions.
If they don’t already have access, Figma will show the Password required screen. They won’t be able to see the file’s contents until they enter the password.
- Select to toggle password visibility.
- Enter the password in the field provided and select Continue.
- If the password is correct, Figma will load the file or prototype. If the password is incorrect, you’ll see an error message.
- You can now access the file based on the link sharing settings.
The file will stay unlocked for the next day or so. Figma will prompt you to re-enter the password:
- After 22 hours has passed
- If the password is reset
- You access the file from another browser
- You clear your cookies
- You access the file in a private or incognito window
It’s not possible to view a password once it has been set. We recommend reaching out to the person who set the password to confirm. You can see who last set the password on the file’s share modal.
If you don’t remember a password you set, you can reset the password ↓
Forgotten the password, or want to change it to something else? You can reset the password for each file. You need an edit role on the file to reset the password.
If you change the file’s password, Figma will reload the file for anyone without an explicit role on the file. Anyone with the file open will need to enter the new password to access the file.
- From the file, select Share in the toolbar.
- Under Anyone with the link and password, you’ll see when the password was last set. Select Reset to change the password.
- Figma reloads the file for anyone without an explicit role on the file. To continue to view or edit the file, anyone without a role will need to enter the new password.
To remove password protection, you need to update the file’s link sharing settings. You can do this from the Share modal.
- If you’re in the file browser, you can right-click on the file and select Share. Otherwise, you can select Share from the toolbar in the file.
- Update the audience to another setting:
- To make the file public, select Anyone with the link.
- To restrict access to your organization only, choose from Anyone in organization, or Anyone in the organization with the link. (Organization and Enterprise plan only)
- To remove access for everyone, except those invited to the file, select Only people invited to the file.
- Figma will update the file access and reload the file for anyone with it open.