Who can use this feature
Available for Full seats on paid plans
You can try Figma Make on other seats and plans
When you work in Figma Make, AI keeps track of everything in your conversation: your prompts, any files you've attached, guidelines you've added, any connected tools and services, and uses it as context. If you’re starting a new task and want to give AI a clean slate, you can clear your context at any time from the chat’s menu.
How it works
Clearing chat context resets the AI's memory for the selected chat. When you clear context, the following are removed:
- All the AI’s context from the existing conversation history
- Context from designs, images, and other files you've attached to the chat
- Context from guidelines files you've added
- MCP connector context
Your chat history—the visible messages in the panel—stays intact, so you can still refer back to previous prompts and responses. The AI, however, treats your next prompt as a fresh start.
Caution: Clearing chat context is permanent and can't be undone.
Clear chat context
To manually clear your chat context:
- At the top-left of the chat panel, click Expand chats to open the chat list.
- Click More options next to the chat you want to reset, then select Clear context.
Sometimes, a long, complex, or context-heavy conversation history can affect the quality of the AI's outputs, causing them to feel inconsistent or off-track, or cause your prompts to consume more credits that you may need for a given task. When this happens, you may want to clear the chat context.