Files in Figma are organized into folders. Each folder has its own set of permissions, so moving a file may change who has access to it.
Use the steps below to move files between drafts, folders, or teams you have access to. To move files between different Figma accounts or organizations, see the options at the end of this article.
Moving a file changes its location. If you only want someone else to own it, follow Transfer ownership of files or folders instead.
Here are some things to consider when moving a file:
| Action | Access you'll need | Who will have access to the file |
|---|---|---|
| Move a file from your drafts into a folder |
|
|
| Move a file between folders in the same team | You must have can edit permissions in the current and destination folders |
|
| Move a file to a folder in a different team |
Before you can move a file to a folder in a different team, you need to:
|
|
- In the file browser, find the file you’d like to move.
- Right click the file thumbnail and select Move file…
- Search for a folder or choose from the default options.
- Click Move.
To move multiple files at once:
- Hold Command (Mac) or Control (PC) while selecting multiple files.
- Right-click and select Move [X] Files.
You can only move multiple files at once if you have the required access in each selected file. Be aware that you can only move 100 files at a time.
- Open the file you’d like to move.
- Click an empty spot on the canvas to deselect any layers.
- Click the icon next to the file name and select Move…
- Search for a folder or choose from the default options.
- Click Move.
Tip: If you don’t see the folder where you’d like to move the file, you might not have can edit permissions in the destination folder.
Move a file between Figma accounts or organizations
It’s not possible to move a file between different Figma accounts or organizations using the steps above. However, you can:
- Move one or more files into a folder and then transfer the folder to another account. An admin at the destination must accept the transfer request. See Transfer folders or teams to another plan for the plans that can send and receive folders.
- Save a copy of a file to your computer and import it to a different account. If the file uses styles or components from a team library, it won’t receive any library updates after it is imported into a different account.
Change file ownership after a move
If you also want someone else to own the file, the current owner can transfer ownership after moving it. This is optional—you don’t need to transfer ownership when you only want to change the file’s location.
If you move several files into a folder, transferring ownership of that folder doesn’t change who owns the files inside it. Transfer ownership of each file separately if needed.