Before you start
Who can use this feature
You can only create projects in teams. You can transfer project ownership on any team plan.
Only the current Owner of the project can transfer ownership
When you create a project, you will be the Owner of that project.
You can choose to transfer ownership of the Project to another collaborator on your team. This will transfer the ownership of the project, and any files within it, to the new owner.
This is perfect if you are leaving a team or project, or want to put someone else in charge.
- Only the current Owner can transfer ownership of a project.
- Owners can only transfer ownership to someone who is an existing collaborator on that project.
It's also possible for Owners of a team to transfer ownership of the team. Learn more about transferring ownership of a team.
Transfer ownership of a project
Caution: This doesn't apply to any files you have in your Drafts. If you have files in your Drafts that you want to transfer, you will need to transfer ownership of those files individually.
You could also choose to move those files to a team, or export and reimport them into another Figma account.
- Open the project in the File Browser
- Click the Share button at the top of the page. This will open the sharing modal for that project.
- Find the person you would like to transfer ownership to. You can only transfer ownership to someone who is an existing collaborator on that Project.
- Click the arrow next to the new Owner to adjust their permissions. Select Owner from the options:
- Click the Transfer ownership button to confirm. You can't undo this action.
- Figma will transfer ownership of the project, and any files, to the new owner. Figma won't change the project's. location or adjust your permissions on the project.