Who can use this feature
Supported on any team or plan
Owners and admins can remove team members or adjust their access
If someone leaves your company—or doesn't need access to your folders and files any more —you can remove them from your team.
Transfer ownership of files and folders
When you remove a team member, any files or folders owned by the removed team member will become ownerless.
- Folders owned by the team member: The folder becomes ownerless. The folder and files in it are still accessible by members and guests. Team owners and admins can claim ownership of ownerless folders.
- Files owned in teams or folders: The file becomes ownerless. Ownerless files cannot be claimed but are still accessible by those with file access.
-
Files in drafts:
- Starter plan: Files in drafts are deleted. To recover these draft files, upgrade to a paid plan to access Unassigned drafts.
- All paid plans: Files in drafts are moved to the Unassigned drafts tab of your Admin > Content page. Admins can move unassigned drafts to a different folder.
Before removing a team member, it is recommended to first transfer ownership of their resources so they do not become ownerless.
Only the current owner of a resource can transfer ownership. If you want to assign ownership to another member, the team owner can do this once the member is removed. Or, you can ask the member to transfer ownership before you remove them.
When you remove a collaborator, Figma will revoke their team permissions and access to files and folders.
Note: If they are the current owner of the team, they will need to transfer ownership of the team to another member before you can remove them.
Remove members from team
When you remove a member's access to the team, this removes their ability to access team resources and any inherited access to team files and folders.
To remove a team member:
- Open the file browser by logging in to your account at figma.com. If you’re in a Figma file, click the Figma menu > Back to files.
- Navigate to the team:
- On the Starter or Professional plan, select All folders from the left sidebar.
- On the Organization or Enterprise plan without workspaces enabled, select All teams from the left sidebar. Then, select a team.
- On the Enterprise plan with workspaces enabled, select All workspaces from the left sidebar. Then, select a team from the Your teams tab.
- Next to the team name, click Open team dropdown.
- Select View members.
- From the member list, find the name of the team member and open the dropdown next to their name.
- Click Remove.