Before you Start
Who can use this feature
Supported on any team or plan
Anyone with access to the Figma agent
Generative plugins are plugins built through prompting the Figma agent, and are different from classic plugins. This article covers management of generated plugins. Learn about the difference between classic plugin and generative plugins.
Find your generative plugin
- Open the workspace where your plugin lives.
- From a Figma Design file, navigate to the Tools tab in the navigation bar on the left and locate your plugin.
- Narrow your search by using the Source filter and selecting Created by you.
- Narrow your search by clicking Filter by price and type and selecting Plugin.
Update your generative plugin
Make edits
Update your generative plugin from the agent or from the Tools panel of any Figma Design file.
- Click the Tools tab in the navigation bar.
- Use the search bar to find your plugin by name. You can also use the Source dropdown to filter by Created by you.
- Describe the edits you’d like to make, like
Add a control that.... - Press
Enterto submit your prompt. - Test your tool and iterate as needed.
Tip: Test things often, and test it in various situations. If using real designs, make sure to use a duplicate of the design to preserve the original asset.
Rename
To rename a generated plugin:
- Click the Tools tab in the navigation bar.
- Use the search bar to find your tool by name. You can also use the Source dropdown to filter by Created by you.
- Hover over your plugin and click , then select Rename.
Publish a new release or edit the Community page
Once Figma approves your plugin, you don't need to submit your plugin for further review. This means you can publish any updates immediately.
If you've updated your generated plugin and are ready to release the new version, you can publish an update. Doing this will update the plugin for every user. Users who have already installed your plugin will only have access to the latest version of your plugin.
It's not possible for users to revert to a previous version of the plugin. If you need to roll back any changes, you can republish an earlier version of the plugin.
The process for submitting an update is the same as the publishing process for generative plugins. You can update any information about your plugin, including the name, description, tags, and any artwork.
- Find your plugin in the Tools tab of your design file.
- Next to the plugin, click > Publish > Publish changes.
- Use the publish plugin modal to update plugin information as needed. Click Publish to complete the process. Figma will update the plugin for everyone that has it installed.
Invite additional publishers
Once your plugin is published to the Figma Community, you can invite others to help publish updates to your plugin. Learn how to invite additional publishers.
Remove your generative plugin
Unpublish
If you're a creator of a generative plugin, you can remove it at any time.
If your plugin is published to the Figma Community, unpublishing your plugin will remove it for anyone who has installed it. Users who've installed your plugin won't receive a notification if it's been unpublished.
We recommend warning your users of your plans to unpublish the plugin. For example, you can add a note to the plugin description or your personal website with the date you will unpublish the plugin.
- Find your plugin in the Tools Tools tab of your design file.
- Next to the plugin, click > Manage publishing > Unpublish.
The plugin will be removed from the Figma Community and users will no longer be able to use the plugin or view the listing. The plugin will remain in development on your account.
Warning: When removing a plugin from the Community, likes and installs will be retained, but any details—such as title, tagline, description, and so on—will be lost.
Delete
If you decide to cease developing a plugin, or want to start from scratch, you can remove the plugin. If your plugin is published, you will need to unpublish your plugin first before you can delete it.
- Find your plugin in the Tools Tools tab of your design file.
- Next to the plugin, click > Delete.
Caution: It's not possible to restore a deleted plugin. Deleting a plugin will also remove any likes and installs you have acquired, even if you publish the same plugin in the future.
Cancel your plugin under review
Every generative plugin that gets published to the Figma Community goes through a review process first. You can make updates to your plugin at anytime, even while under review. If you've changed your mind and no longer wish to share the plugin to the Figma Community, you can cancel the review:
- Find your plugin in the Tools tab of your design file.
- Next to the plugin, click > Publish > Cancel review.
Provide support
Figma does not provide support for third-party applications. As the plugin's creator, it's your responsibility to assist your plugin's users with technical issues.
You need to add a Support contact when you submit your plugin for approval. This can be an email address users can contact, or a link to a website or help center.