Before you start
Who can use this feature
Requires edit access to the source and destination folders or teams
Folders in Figma are organized within teams. Moving a folder from one team to another may change who has access to it.
Use the steps below to move a folder to a team or folder available in the Move menu. To send a folder to a different plan using a request that an admin at the destination accepts, see Transfer folders or teams to another plan. Check that article for the plans that can send and receive folders.
Moving a folder changes its location. If you only want someone else to own it, follow Transfer ownership of files or folders instead.
Before you move a folder
If you move a folder, any nested folders inside it move too.
The folder keeps its existing access and permission settings when it’s moved. (Permission and access are determined by the “Who can access” dropdown on the folder’s share settings). This means:
- If access is set to Only those invited, only people explicitly invited to the folder will have access after it’s moved.
- Organization and Enterprise plans: If access is set to Anyone in [organization name], all organization members retain the same level of access.
- Enterprise only: If access is set to Anyone in [workspace name], all members of the destination workspace will have access. If the folder is moved to a team that isn’t assigned to a workspace, access is reduced to Only those invited.
Tip: Before moving the folder, review its share settings so you know who will have access in the new location.
Move a folder
To move a folder to a different team:
- Open the file browser by logging in at figma.com. If you're in a Figma file, click the Figma menu > Back to files.
- Navigate to the folder.
- On the Starter or Professional plan, select All folders from the left sidebar. Then, select a folder.
- On the Organization or Enterprise plan, select All teams from the left sidebar. Select a team, then select a folder.
- On the Enterprise plan with workspaces enabled, select All workspaces from the left sidebar. Then, select a team from the Your teams tab. Select a folder in that team.
- Click the dropdown menu next to the folder name and select Move...
- Choose a new team or folder to move the selected folder into. (Folders can be nested up to 10 levels deep.)
Tip: While browsing a team, you can also right-click on a folder and select Move folder from the menu that appears.
Caution: If the Move... or Move folder menu items are unavailable, it may be because you only have view permissions on the folder. You can check the permissions of your folder by clicking the Share button on the folder page.
Change folder ownership after a move
If you also want someone else to own the folder, the current owner can transfer ownership after moving it. This is optional—you don’t need to transfer ownership when you only want to change the folder’s location.
Transferring folder ownership doesn’t change who owns the files inside it. Transfer ownership of each file separately if needed.