Billing groups let you sort people in your organization according to internal budget sources. Each billing group has billing group admins, who can:
- Assign or unassign users from the group
- Manage upgrade requests
- Move people between seat types
- Monitor AI credit usage for members in their billing group, where available
- Set individual paid AI credit limits for members in their billing group, where available
Tip: What's the difference between billing groups and workspaces? Billing groups are for accounting and organizing people by cost center. Workspaces are for collaboration and organizing work by departments, product areas, or other categories.
Who can manage billing groups?
Only organization admins and billing group admins can manage billing groups.
- Organization admins can create billing groups and assign billing group admins to each group. They can manage every billing group in the organization.
- Billing group admins manage seats in billing groups where they are an admin.
Note: Someone can be both a workspace admin and a billing group admin. Learn more about the different types of admins in Figma →
Tip: You don't need to pay for someone to be a billing group admin. Admins who don't work in Figma can use a free View seat.
Billing group settings and permissions
| Action | Billing group admin | Organization admin |
|---|---|---|
| View billing groups in the organization | Can view billing groups they manage | ✓ |
| Add or remove people from a billing group | Billing groups they manage | ✓ |
| Change people’s seat types | Billing groups they manage | ✓ |
| View AI credit usage | Billing groups they manage | ✓ |
| Set default and individual paid AI credit limits | Billing groups they manage | ✓ |
| Add or remove a billing group admin | X | ✓ |
| Create a billing group | X | ✓ |
| Rename a billing group | X | ✓ |
| Delete a billing group | X | ✓ |
View billing groups in the organization
Billing group admins can only view billing groups they manage.
- From the file browser, click Admin.
- Select the relevant billing group in the sidebar.
Organization admins can view all billing groups in the organization.
- From the file browser, click Admin.
- Select the Billing tab.
- Select the Billing Groups tab.
Add or remove people from a billing group
People can only belong to one billing group at a time. When someone isn’t part of a billing group, they have the Unassigned label. Any organization admin or billing group admin can move someone who is unassigned into a billing group. You can also remove people from a billing group at any time by unassigning them.
Note: Organization admins receive upgrade notifications and requests for anyone with the Unassigned label. When a person is moved to a billing group, the billing group admins in that group become responsible for managing that person’s paid status.
To move someone between billing groups, you’ll need to be an organization admin or a billing group admin in both groups.
Note: Guests are automatically added to the billing group of the person who invited them. If the person who invited them isn’t assigned to a billing group, the guest is also Unassigned.
- From the file browser, click Admin.
- Select the relevant billing group in the sidebar.
- To assign someone, click Add members and search for the person you'd like to add.
- To unassign someone, search in the table for the person you’d like to unassign. In the Billing group column, click the dropdown menu to change their billing group.
- From the file browser, click Admin.
- Select the People tab.
- Search for the person you’d like to manage.
- In the Billing group column, click the dropdown menu to change their billing group.
Tip: You can manage people in bulk by hovering over each name and marking the checkbox that appears. Once you’ve selected multiple people, click Change billing group at the bottom of the screen.
Change people’s seat types
Billing group admins and organization admins can manage members’ paid status at any time. This includes:
View AI credit usage and set limits
Billing group admins can view members’ AI credit usage from the AI credits tab of a billing group they manage, where available. Organization admins can view usage across the organization.
Set paid credit limits
Organization admins can set a default per-user paid credit limit for the organization. You can also set a different default for a billing group:
- Organization admins can manage defaults for any billing group.
- Billing group admins can manage defaults for their own groups, but can’t change the organization default.
A billing group default takes precedence over the organization default. If someone already has a custom user setting, they keep it when either default changes.
Billing group admins can manage individual paid credit access for people in their groups. Organization admins can do this for anyone on the plan.
Learn more about setting default and individual paid AI credit limits.
Allocate shared credits
Organization admins can set aside a shared allocation of paid AI credits for each billing group.
This allocation is separate from the default per-user limit. A per-user limit doesn’t reserve credits, and someone may be blocked before reaching their limit if the group’s shared allocation or the plan’s available paid credits run out.
Learn more about managing AI credits for billing groups.
Add or remove a billing group admin
An organization admin can add or remove billing group admins from any group. It’s possible to make someone an admin of more than one billing group.
- From the file browser, click Admin.
- Select the Billing tab.
- Select the Billing Groups tab.
- Find the billing group you'd like to manage, and click the three dot menu.
- Click Edit details.
- Add or remove the name of the person you'd like to add/remove as a billing admin.
- Click Save changes.
Tip: If you’d like someone to be a billing group admin who isn’t in your Figma organization yet, you’ll need to invite them first. If they don’t need to use Figma, make sure they have a View seat.
Create a billing group
After you create a billing group, you can add people to it.
Tip: The steps below outline how to create a billing group manually. Alternatively, organizations using SAML SSO in Okta can use SCIM to automatically manage groups. You must create at least one billing group before setting up the corresponding group in Okta.
- From the file browser, click Admin.
- Select the Billing tab.
- Click Billing groups.
- Click Billing group.
- Give the billing group a name and add people from your organization as admins.
Rename a billing group
- From the file browser, click Admin.
- Select the Billing tab.
- Select the Billing Groups tab.
- Find the billing group you’d like to manage, and click the three dot menu.
- Click Edit details.
- Update the name of the billing group and click Save changes.
Delete a billing group
Deleting a billing group will move all members of the billing group to Unassigned. An organization or billing group admin can re-assign these members.
- From the file browser, click Admin.
- Select the Billing tab.
- Select the Billing Groups tab.
- Find the billing group you’d like to manage and click the three dot menu.
- Click Delete.
Tip: You can delete multiple billing groups at once by hovering over the name of each group and marking the checkbox that appears. Once you've selected multiple groups, click Delete billing groups at the bottom of the screen.