Who can use this feature
Available on the Organization and Enterprise plans.
A Figma organization is made up of teams. Each team can have its own:
View teams in an organization
To view a list of teams in the organization:
- On the Organization plan, click Browse in the sidebar.
- On the Enterprise plan with workspaces enabled:
- Click Browse in the sidebar.
- Click on a workspace to view the teams inside.
Note: Organization admins can also view a list of teams, including hidden teams, in Admin settings. Organization admins can also view activity related to hidden teams, including members and file names, in the organization's activity logs.
Admins can join, request to join, or leave teams from the Teams tab, depending on team access settings.
Guests can only view teams to which they are invited.
Joining a team in your organization gives you access to available projects, files, and resources inside it.
Understanding team access:
Teams in a Figma organization are organized by audience access:
- [Organization name]: Anyone in the organization can access the team. If the team is open to anyone in the organization, you’ll also have a team permission as set by the team owner.
- Edit: Users can create, edit, and delete projects in the team.
- View: Users can only view files and must ask for permission to edit them.
- Only those invited: Only users explicitly invited to the team can access it. Teams that are open to Only those invited have two visibility options:
- Visible: The team can be found by organization members. Members can ask for permission to join a visible team.
- Hidden: The team cannot be found by search. Members must be invited by an existing member.
Access an open team
Teams that are open to anyone at [Organization Name] are open to any members in the selected organization or workspace. Every member can search for and view these teams.
- Click All teams in the file browser.
- Navigate to the team you want to access and click on it.
Organization members do not need to explicitly join open teams. They will have
can edit or
can view permission, as set by the team owner.
Tip: By default, new team members are given
can edit permissions to the team. However, team admins can change the default permissions to
Join a visible team
Visible teams are teams that are set to Only those invited, but have a Visible setting.
Any member can search for and find visible teams, but they can't view any files or projects within them. Visible teams have a lock icon in the file browser.
Members of the visible team can invite other members without admin approval. They can only invite collaborators with the same permission level or lower. For example: someone with
can view access can only invite someone with
can view access, but someone with
can edit access can invite someone with
can edit or
can view access.
Members can ask to join visible teams with
can view or
can edit access. A team admin needs to approve any requests before they can join the team.
- Click Ask to join on the team card.
- Use the dropdown menu to choose
- Add any notes or information to give the team admin some context (optional).
- Click Request access.
- Figma will send a notification to every admin on that team. You can only access the team once an admin has approved your request.
If you don't need access to the team any more, or want to request a different level of permissions, click Cancel request on the team card.
Join a hidden team
Hidden teams are teams that are open to Only those invited, but have a Hidden visibility setting. They are not visible to members of the organization.
To access a hidden team, a current member of the team needs to invite you. Only admins and people with
can edit permissions can invite members or guests to hidden teams.
Updates to viewing and joining teams
Note: These updates are rolling out throughout the course of February and March. If you don’t see them in your account, they will be available soon.
In February 2024, we revised the way organization members view and access teams that are open to anyone at [Organization name].
- Previously, organization members were required to explicitly join a team in order to fully exercise the can view/can edit permission that was set for them on that team.
- Now, when team access is set to [Organization name], organization members can automatically view or edit teams, depending on the permission that is set. They no longer need to explicitly click join the team to exercise these actions