Before you start
Who can use this feature
Users on Professional, Starter, and Education plans
Users with View access to a File can use Components from libraries they have access to.
If you are part of an Organization using Figma then your sharing permissions are slightly different. Learn more about Organization Permissions in our Permissions in an Organization article.
To support collaboration and improve design workflows within teams, Figma has permissions. Permissions control how other collaborators can interact with your files and projects.
Set a collaborator's permissions when you first invite them to a resource. Or, update their access to resources as needed.
There are four permissions, or levels of access: Viewer, Editor, Admin, and Owner.
Figma supports permissions at team, project and file level. This means a collaborator can have different permissions across teams, files, and projects.
- Teams: Owner, Admin, Editor, Viewer
- Project: Owner, Editor, Viewer
- File: Owner, Editor, Viewer
Viewers are collaborators that have can view access to a resource.
Viewers can comment on any files and prototypes, but they can't make changes to layers, objects, or properties within a file.
When you invite someone to a team as a Viewer, they will have can view permissions on any files and projects in that team.
When you invite someone to a single file or project as a Viewer, they will only have can view access to that resource.
Viewers can do any of the following:
- Click on objects within a design to view their properties
- Measure distances between layers and objects
- View CSS, Android, and iOS value of a selection in the Code panel
- View and interact with prototypes and presentations
- Copy the contents of any text layers
- Save a copy of the file as a .fig file
- Copy frames, Components, objects or layers within files.
- Use Components from files they have can view access to. They can only use these Components in files they have can edit access to.
- Export frames and layers as assets
- Comment on files or prototypes
Viewers can't do the following:
- Move, scale, edit or change any layers within a file
- Change or publish Components to a Team Library
- Share files from their Drafts with other team members
- Access the version history of a file
Note: You don't need to have a Figma account to view any files that have been shared publicly via link sharing.
If you're not logged in, you won't be able to interact with any layers, or make comments. You will only be able to pan around the canvas or adjust the zoom level.
Editors are collaborators that have can edit permissions to access to resource.
Editors can make changes to a file or prototype, as well as its contents. Like Viewers, they can also comment on files.
When you invite someone to a team as an Editor, they will have can edit permission to any files and projects in that team.
Your Figma subscription is based on the number of Editors on your team. Learn more about Team plans in Figma.
Editors can do any of the following:
- Move, scale, edit or change any layers within a file. This includes the position, as well as properties.
- Create interactive prototypes
- View and interact with prototypes
- Create, modify and publish changes to Styles or Components in a Team Library.
- View the version history of a file. Editors can also add new versions, duplicate versions or restore a previous versions of the file.
- Share personal files from their drafts with other members of their team or Organization
- Move, rename, delete or restore files and projects in the team.
- Invite collaborators to a resource at or below their own permission level: can view and can edit.
- Update other collaborator's permissions, including upgrading Viewers or downgrading Editors.
- Create invite-only and view-only projects in Professional teams
- Upgrade a Starter or Education Team to a Professional Team. When they upgrade the team. Figma will also update their team permissions to Admin.
Editors can't do the following:
- Invite collaborators to the team as Admins
- Upgrade themselves, or other team members, to an Admin
- Transfer ownership of the team
- Access the Admin Dashboard for their Professional team
Within a team, you can give specific collaborators Admin permissions. Admins have can edit access to files and projects within the team, as well as extra administrative rights.
Admins have access to the team Settings, like your team's libraries. In a Professional team, Admins can also manage the team's billing via the Admin Dashboard.
An existing Admin can upgrade any Editor to an Admin.
Team Admins can do any of the following:
Admins can do everything that Editors can, as well as:
- Invite other collaborators to the team as Viewers, Editors or Admins
- Remove any member from the team
- Choose which shared Libraries are available by default in the team
- Upload and manage shared fonts for that team (Organizations only)
- View the Admin Dashboard to:
- Update other collaborator's permissions, including upgrading Viewers and Editors, or downgrading Editors.
- Update the billing details for the team
- Downgrade the team to a starter team
- Upgrade the team to a Professional team or an Organization
- View past invoices for the team
- Become an Owner, if the current Owner leaves the resource or has their permissions restricted.
Note: As Admins have can edit permissions, Figma will include Admins in your subscription. It's not currently possible to add someone to a Professional team in a "buyer" or administration-only role.
Anyone who creates a team, project or file is the Owner of that resource. There can be only one Owner for each resource. Resources include files, projects, or teams.
Team Owners can do any of the following:
Owners can perform any action that an Admin can. They can also do the following:
- Invite other collaborators to their team, project or file at any permission level.
- Transfer ownership of a resource to an existing Viewer, Editor or Admin. Owners will need to transfer ownership before they can leave the team.
- Take ownership of files and projects when other members leave the team.
- Use the Delete forever action to permanently delete a file they own. Editors can delete files and projects, but the Owner can still access them in their Deleted Files folder.