In this article, learn how to remove or adjust people's access to individual files or folders.
To remove someone from a team or organization, see:
Folders
To change someone’s permissions or remove their access to a folder:
- Open the file browser by logging in to your account at figma.com.
- If you’re in a specific Figma file, click the Figma menu > Back to files.
- Open the folder page.
- On the Starter or Professional plan, select All folders from the left sidebar. Then, select a folder.
- On the Organization or Enterprise plan, select All teams from the left sidebar. Select a team, then select a folder.
- On the Enterprise plan with workspaces enabled, select All workspaces from the left sidebar. Then, select a team from the Your teams tab. Select a folder in that team.
- Click Share.
- Select the dropdown next a user’s name to adjust their access level or remove them from the folder.
Note: If someone has access to the folder through the team or parent folder that the folder sits in, removing them from a folder only removes their explicit access. They may still access the folder via inherited permissions.
Files
You can manage access from the file’s share modal.
- Open a file.
- Click the Share button in the toolbar.
- Click the dropdown next to a user’s name to adjust or remove their file access.
Note: If someone has access to the file through the team or folder the file sits in, removing them from a file only removes their explicit access. They may still access the file via inherited permissions.
What happens when you remove access
When you remove someone’s access to a file or folder:
- They no longer appear in the Share list.
- They can’t open or edit the file or folder unless they still have inherited access through an organization, team, or folder.
- If they left comments before removal, they may continue to receive email notifications on those existing threads.