Before you start
Who can use this feature
Supported on the Professional plan.
Only team admins can manage the team's billing.
Teams give you access to a dedicated workspace where you can create files and projects. You will need to select a plan for every team you create. Your plan lets Figma know how much to charge you for your team.
Plans are set at a team-level, not at account-level, Figma manages subscription for each team separately. It's possible to have multiple teams that you pay for separately, or a combination of free and paid teams.
Note: Invoices are currently only payable in $USD. References to totals and balances in the product, and any documentation, are always in $USD.
View plan and subscription
Team admins can find their team's plan summary, current subscription, and invoice history in the Billing tab of their team workspace.
They can also manage other plan related settings in the Members and Settings pages. Guide to team management →
Current billing period
See an overview of your invoice for the current billing period.
Next invoice issue date: The date of the next monthly invoice for the team. Figma sends a reminder three days before this date to confirm your total Design and FigJam editor seats for that billing period.
Invoice total: The expected total of your next invoice based on the combined number of Design editor seats and FigJam editor seats.
Monthly design editor seats: How many Figma design editor seats you currently have. If you have less editor roles than seats you've already purchased, you'll see how many of those seats you're using.
Total FigJam editor seats: How many FigJam editor seats you currently have.
FigJam is free for all of 2021! As FigJam is currently in beta, you won't incur any charges for your FigJam editor seats. You can see what your subscription would cost with FigJam editors seats included in the Invoice total column.
Note: If you have cancelled your subscription, or are currently in a grace period, you won't see a date for Next invoice added on. Figma will show
Plan summary and renewal
View a summary of your plan and when it's due to renew.
Professional plan renewal: View the date of your next monthly or annual renewal.
Monthly subscriptions will automatically renew. Figma will charge you for anyone with an editor role on your monthly billing date.
Figma will send renewal reminders for annual subscriptions 30 days before the renewal date. Use this process to add or remove members, or choose not to renew your subscription.
Note: You will have both an annual renewal and monthly renewal if you've added extra editors on top of your annual subscription. View your monthly subscription in the current billing period (A) and annual subscription in the plan summary (B).
Total editor seats today: The total number of editor seats included in your subscription. View a total for both Design seats and FigJam seats.
Invoice sent to: See what email addresses are set to receive billing reminders and notifications for your team. Update billing contact →
Figma bases your subscription on how many editors you need. Editors are team members or external collaborators with an editor role. Every editor translates to a "seat" in your subscription. Manage editor seats ↓
View the invoice history for that team in descending order. The most recent invoice, usually the current invoice, is at the top. For each invoice Figma will include the:
- Date invoice was created
- Description of the invoice
- Editors invoiced (#)
- Billed amount in $USD
Manage editor seats
Figma bases your subscription on how many editors you need. This includes team members and external collaborators with an editor role on the team.
View edit access
The members tab includes anyone who has can edit permissions on a team file or project. This can include people who don't have a role on the team itself.
To view and manage which files they have access to:
- If a member doesn't have team-level permissions, Figma will show you how many files they have
Can editaccess to instead. Click the Can edit 𝒙 files link next to their row.
- Members can have permissions on individual projects or files that differ from their team-level permissions. Click the next to the member and select See edit access.
- To view the edit access for any member or collaborator, click and select See edit access.
From the edit access modal, you can:
Select project to open the project, decide if they need edit access, and adjust their permissions accordingly.
Select file to view the share modal for that file. Decide if they need edit access and adjust their permissions on that file accordingly.
Update their role to viewer-restricted to remove them from your team's subscription. If they still have edit access to the team, they may be able to perform some action. Learn more about Roles and permissions in teams →
Manage roles and permissions
Update a team member's role and permissions to add or remove them from the team's billing.
Team admins can manage roles and permissions for collaborators by heading to Team > Members in the file browser.
- Upgrade to an editor role to give them edit access to files and include them in the team's subscription.
- Downgrade to a viewer - restricted role to remove their edit access and remove them from the team's subscription.
Add editors to your annual subscription
Your annual subscription covers the number of editors you had when you signed up for your plan. Teams often change in size and make up throughout a subscription period.
When you add new editors to your team on an annual subscription, Figma will charge you a separate monthly subscription for those editors. You'll have both an annual subscription, and a monthly subscription for any extra editors—we call this "co-terming".
To simplify your account administration, you can convert your monthly seats to an annual subscription. Add, manage, or renew annual subscriptions →
Manage failed payments
Every now and then a subscription payment may fail. If a payment for your Figma subscription fails, Figma will attempt the payment again the next business day. During this time you'll still be able to access your account as normal.
If your payment fails 3 times, Figma will temporarily restrict your account. During this time you'll only be able to view your files and projects, not edit them.
To unlock your account, you will need to make a successful payment. To force another payment attempt, you can update your payment information.
Once you've made a successful payment, Figma will restore edit access to your account.
Tip! The most common causes for failed payments are insufficient funds or an expired credit card.