The person who creates a file or folder is considered the owner. You can transfer ownership of a file or folder at any time.
Transferring ownership changes who owns a file or folder. It doesn’t move the file or folder to another location. If you only want to reorganize your work, follow the steps to move a file or move a folder. You don’t need to transfer ownership as an extra step.
If you want to change both the location and the owner, move the file or folder first, then follow the steps below to transfer ownership to another collaborator.
On the Professional, Organization, and Enterprise plans, you can transfer ownership of a file if your seat includes full access to that product. For example, you need a Full seat to transfer a Figma Design file, but a Collab seat is enough to transfer a FigJam file.
It's not possible to undo these actions. The new owner will need to assign ownership back to you if you change your mind.
Transfer file ownership
When you create a file, Figma will make you the owner of that file. You can transfer ownership to another collaborator at any time.
When you transfer ownership of a file, Figma will not:
- Move the file to a different location. This applies to files created in your drafts.
- Adjust your access permissions on the file, or prevent you from viewing it.
If the file is in your drafts, you can transfer ownership to anyone you've shared it with, including someone outside your team. If the file is a shared file (any file that's been moved out of your drafts into a folder) the new owner needs to already be a collaborator on it. If they aren't, invite them first.
Transferring ownership only changes who the owner is — it doesn't move the file. If you want to move the file, do that separately.
Tip: You may not need to transfer ownership at all. Anyone with can edit access on a file can do almost everything the owner can. If your goal is to let someone else manage the file, give them can edit access instead.
Note: When you delete your Figma account, Figma will also delete any files in your drafts, regardless of who owns them.
If you are planning on deleting your Figma account, we recommend moving any files in your drafts to a shared folder. You can then transfer ownership of that folder, and of the files inside it, to another Figma user.
Alternatively, you can export files in your drafts as .fig files. This will allow you to open those files in Figma at a later date. Exported .fig files don't include any permissions, comments, or version history from the original file.
To transfer ownership of a file:
- Open the share modal for the file.
- File browser: Right-click on the file and select Share.
- Editor: Click the Share button in the toolbar.
- Click the collaborator's current permissions and select Owner.
- Click the Transfer ownership button to confirm the transfer. You can’t undo this action.
Transfer folder ownership
When you create a folder, you're the owner of that folder. You can transfer ownership of a folder to another collaborator on your team. This is useful if you're leaving a team or folder, or want to put someone else in charge.
Note: Transferring ownership of a folder doesn’t transfer ownership of the files inside it. If you also want someone else to own those files, transfer ownership of each file separately using the steps above.
- Only the current owner can transfer ownership of a folder.
- Owners can only transfer ownership to someone who's already a collaborator on that folder.
To transfer ownership:
- Open the file browser by logging in to your account at figma.com. If you’re inside a file, click the Figma menu > Back to files.
- View a list of folders on your plan or team.
- On the Starter or Professional plan, select All folders from the left sidebar.
- On the Organization or Enterprise plan, select All teams from the left sidebar. Then, select a team.
- On the Enterprise plan with workspaces enabled, select All workspaces from the left sidebar. Then, select a team from the Your teams tab.
- Open the folder you want to update.
- Click Share at the top of the page to open the share modal.
- Click their existing permissions and select Owner.
- Click Transfer ownership to confirm. You can't undo this action.
Figma transfers ownership of the folder to the new owner. Files inside the folder keep their current owners. To change who owns those files, transfer ownership of each file separately. Transferring folder ownership won’t change the folder’s location or adjust your permissions on it.