Who can use this feature
Supported on any paid plan.
Only the current owner of a team can transfer ownership to another team member.
The person who originally created the team is listed as the owner. If you are leaving the team, or want to hand that responsibility to someone else, you need to transfer ownership of the team.
Only the current owner can transfer the ownership of the team to another member. They can transfer ownership to any existing team member, including a member with only
Can view access.
Caution: This process only changes the ownership of the team, it won't update the billing details for the team's subscription. If you also pay for the subscription, you will need to update the billing details for your team, before you transfer ownership.
- Open the team in Figma and select the Members in the menu bar.
- Click their existing Team permissions and select Owner.
- Figma will ask you to confirm the transfer. It's not possible to undo this action, but the new owner can transfer ownership again. Click Transfer ownership to confirm.
- Figma will make that member the owner and give the previous owner an admin role on the team instead.
Note: Figma won't remove the previous owner from the team, they will stay on the team as a team admin. The member can leave the team, or another admin can remove them.