Before you start
Who can use this feature
Supported on any team or plan
Any team member can invite collaborators to a team. Members can invite others at a permission level equal to or less than their own permission level.
Teams allow you to create and share resources and collaborate on files and projects within a shared workspace.
Permissions control how collaborators can interact with your team. You'll need to set a collaborator's permissions when you first invite them to a resource, but you can make changes to a collaborator's access at any time.
There are two different levels of access to a team:
- Can view (viewer)
- Can edit (editor)
There are also two other roles you'll come across in a team:
In this article, we'll explore these roles and permissions, and what actions each level can perform.
Inherited versus explicit permissions
Every team member will have a team-level permission, which controls their default access to any projects and files in the team workspace.
For example: if you invite someone to your team with
Can view permissions, they will only be able to view and comment on files in your team.
Figma also lets you set different permissions at a project and file level. This means a collaborator can have different permissions on file or project than their team-level permissions.
For example: a collaborator has
Can view access to your team, but they have
Can edit access to a specific file in your team.
By default, a team member's permissions on team file and projects are inherited from their team-level permissions. If you invite a team member to a team file or project with different access to their team-level permissions, Figma will give them an explicit role on that resource. Explicit roles take precedence over inherited roles.
For example: if you have a view-only project in a team, but give someone can edit access to a file in that project, they will be able to edit it.
You can view a team member or collaborator's permissions on the Members tab. This includes their team-level permissions, as well as any explicit roles. Learn how to manage team members and permissions →
Note: Figma will charge you for every person with
Can edit access that interacts with your team. This includes collaborators that aren't members of your team, but do have edit access to a single file in your team.
We use the term viewer to explain a collaborator that has
can view ****access to a resource. Viewers can only perform limited actions within teams, files, and projects.
Viewers can do any of the following:
- View and interact with prototypes and presentations.
- Add, reply to, or resolve comments on team files or prototypes.
- Select objects within a design and view their properties in the Inspect panel. This includes values across CSS, Android, and iOS formats.
- Measure distances between layers and objects.
- Copy the contents of any text layers.
- Save a local copy of the file (as a .fig file)
- Copy frames, components, objects or layers within files or export frames and layers as assets (unless the option to copy and share the file has been disabled).
- Use components from files they have
can viewaccess to. They will only be able to use those components in files they do have
can editaccess to, like their drafts.
Viewers can't do the following:
- Make changes to a file, including move, scale, edit or change individual layers and layer properties.
- Create, change or publish styles and components to a shared team library.
- Share files from their drafts with other members of their team.
- Access the version history of a file
Note: You don't need to have a Figma account to view any files that have been shared publicly via link sharing. If you're not logged in, you won't be able to interact with any layers, or make comments. You can only pan around the canvas or adjust the zoom level.
We use the term editor to explain a collaborator that has
can edit access to a resource.
Editors have the ability to view and modify resources within a team. They can perform some administrative actions in a team, but do not have access to billing or team-wide settings.
Figma bases your plan and subscription on the number of people with edit access to resources on your team. Learn more about team plans in Figma →
Editors can do the following:
- Move, scale, edit or change any layers within a file. This includes changing the alignment, dimensions, and position of a layer, as well as any layer-specific properties.
- Create, view and interact with prototypes.
- Create, modify and publish changes to styles or components in a team library.
- View the version history of a file. Anyone with edit access to the file can add new versions, duplicate versions or restore a previous versions of the file.
- Share personal files from their drafts with other members of their team or organization.
- Move, rename, delete, or restore any files and projects in the team.
- Invite people to the team, files, or projects with either
- Change another team member or collaborator's permissions on a file, project, or team.
- Create invite-only and view-only projects in Professional teams.
- Upgrade an existing Starter or Education Team to a paid Professional team. Figma will grant the person who upgrades the team admin access.
Editors can't do the following:
- Grant themselves or other members of the team admin access (unless they upgrade the team to a paid plan).
- Transfer ownership of the team to another collaborator.
- Use the Billing tab to view past invoice to the team.
- Use the Settings tab to update any team-wide libraries or settings.
Admins are team members that have extra administrative right within the team. Admins must have edit access to the team, you cannot have an admin with only view access.
Admins have access to both the Billing and Settings tab within the team workspace. This allows to view the team's invoice history as well as manage any team-wide settings.
Note: An existing admin can grant any team member admin access, which will also give them edit access to the team. Figma will grant anyone who upgrades the team or adds their credit card details admin access to the team.
Admins can do any of the following:
Admins can do everything members with can edit access can do, as well as:
- Invite other collaborators to the team with
- Grant other team members admin access.
- Update other member's permissions or remove members from the team.
- Choose which shared libraries are available to team members by default.
- Upload and manage shared fonts for that team [Figma Organizations only]
- Become an owner of a file, project, or team if the current owner leaves the resource.
- Use the Billing tab to view past invoices for the team.
- Update the billing details for the team, including the payment method.
- Upgrade or downgrade the team's plan and subscription.
Note: Admins also have
can edit access to team files and projects. This means Figma will include admins in your team's billing. It's not currently possible to add someone to a Professional team in a "buyer" or administration-only role.
Anyone who creates a team, project or file is the owner of that resource. There is only one owner for each resource. Resources include files, projects, or teams.
Team owners can do any of the following:
Owners can perform any action that an admin can. There are also some extra actions they can perform:
- Transfer ownership of a resource to another collaborator on the team. They will need to have
adminaccess to the team. Owners will need to transfer ownership before they can leave the team.
- Assume ownership of a member's files and projects when that member leaves the team.
- Use the Delete forever action to permanently delete any file(s) they own. Anyone with edit access to a resource can delete it, but the owner can still access it in their Deleted files. Learn how to manage deleted files →
Note: If you're on the Figma Organization plan, an organization admin can delete any teams in the organization without owners. Explore permissions in an organization →